Included below is a sample of frequently asked questions that you may have about Thinkific Learning Communities. Click to expand each dropdown for more information.
Can I delete a Community?
Yes, communities can be deleted or archived. For more, see: How to Delete or Archive a Community
Can I delete a Space within a Community?
Yes! Spaces within a Community can be deleted.
Keep in mind that deleting a Space will delete all of the content contained within it, so only use this option if you're sure. Deleting a Space is permanent.
For more, see: Customize and Manage Your Community Spaces
Can I limit how long a student has access to a Community?
Yes! When setting the pricing for your Community, you will be able to select an enrollment duration for most payment options.
-
If you set your price to free, you can enter the desired number of days until expiry.
-
If you set your price to one-time payment, you can enter the enrollment duration for that payment.
-
If you select a monthly payment plan, you can add an enrollment duration for which the student will have access to your Community.
One important thing to note is that if you set your payment method to subscription/membership, there will not be an option to set an enrollment duration or expiry, as this payment method will automatically set and update expiry dates based on payment frequency.
Can I create a Community that is only available to students enrolled in a specific Course?
Yes! You can create a Community to be linked to a specific course, and then in the access settings, choose "Students in selected courses or bundles" and select the desired course.
To advertise this community-course connection to your students, you can use the Spaces feature. This will add the course link to the selected Space in the Community, and a Community card will be displayed to students in the Course Player.
For more, see: Communities: Access and Enrollments · Customize and Manage Your Community Spaces
Is there a way to display a Community from within my Course, or vice versa?
Yes! To advertise a community-course connection to your students, you can use the Spaces feature.
This will add the Course card to the selected Space in the Community, and a Community card will be displayed to students in the Course Player.
Note
Course cards for hidden or private courses will only be visible in the Community for current students in those courses. Students who are not enrolled in those courses will not be able to see hidden or private course cards within a space.
For more, see: Customize and Manage Your Community Spaces
Can I manage my community using mobile app?
Your students can access their community using the Thinkific Mobile App or your Branded Mobile app. As a Site Owner/Admin or Community Administrator, you can complete some actions using a mobile app, such as creating posts, replying to posts or comments, etc. However, Mobile App solutions built by Thinkific were designed specifically for your students, which means that the majority of the Admin activity will need to be done using the desktop web browser version of Thinkific.
For more, see: Get Started with the Thinkific Mobile App · Get Started with Your Branded Mobile App
Do I need to take any specific steps to make my community available on the mobile app?
As long as you have enabled the Thinkific Mobile app or have set up your Branded Mobile app, your community will be available on the mobile app! You do not need to take any specific steps to allow your communities to be visible on the app — your communities will be accessible via and optimized for the mobile app.
For more, see: Get Started with the Thinkific Mobile App · Get Started with Your Branded Mobile App
Can I use the theme code to edit the appearance of my community?
No. At this time Community appearance cannot be edited using Custom code / Custom themes. However, you can edit the appearance of your community using the Settings tab. You can also edit the appearance of community landing pages using Site Builder or Custom code.
For more, see: Create and Set Up Your Thinkific Community · Build Your Community Landing Page
Can I showcase a specific post on the main Community page?
Yes! Site Owners and Admins can Pin Posts to the main page of a Community.
For more, see: Manage Your Community: Members, Posts, and Permissions
Can I sell my Community using the legacy two-page checkout?
No, you can only sell communities when using a Performance checkout. If you want to switch to a Performance checkout, follow these instructions:
For more, see: Thinkific's Built-In Checkout
Can my students access their community on mobile?
Yes, your students can access their communities using the Thinkific Mobile App or your Branded Mobile app. The mobile app allows your students to access their learning content on the go, including their communities, all on their devices using a native iOS or Android app. With access to courses and communities, and features like push notifications, activity feeds, and more directly in your students' pocket, it's easy to drive engagement while keeping your content and learning products top of mind.
For more, see: Get Started with the Thinkific Mobile App · Get Started with Your Branded Mobile App
-
Currently, a maximum of 21 communities can be displayed in the Student Dashboard. If you have more than 21 communities, we recommend sharing community links directly with your students in a text lesson or via email. Including a link in a Course Welcome Email is a great way to notify your students of any communities they have access to when enrolling in your course.
-
If you are no longer using a community, you can set it to draft publish status. Alternatively, you can also archive and delete communities if you need. For more, see: How to Delete or Archive a Community