Community Moderator Role

    Plan Availability
  • Pro
  • Plus
  • image
  • Pro + Growth
  • Basic
  • Premier
  • Start
  • Grow
  • Expand
    Legacy Plans
  • Pro
  • Plus
  • image
  • Pro + Growth
  • Basic
  • Premier
  • Start
  • Grow
  • Expand
    Platform
  • Pro
  • Plus
  • image
  • Pro + Growth
  • Basic
  • Premier
  • Start
  • Grow
  • Expand

Save time and boost engagement with the community moderator role. Delegate community moderation tasks to trusted team members to save time and improve the learner experience.

About This Feature

Community moderators are an important part of any successful online community: with duties ranging from welcoming new members and highlighting important posts and information to maintaining the rules and guidelines, moderators can help shape the community experience. With the updated community moderator role, you can empower your team and/or users to independently moderate your communities!

Assign moderation capabilities to members of your team and/or alumni, and free up your time to focus your attention on what matters most.

How It Works

Users assigned to a community moderator role will have both a moderator title (demonstrated via a moderator badge visible beside their name in their profile, and on their posts and comments within the assigned community), and a specific set of permissions available to them.

There are no limits on how many community moderators you can assign across all paid plans - you can assign as many moderators as you need to help you manage your communities!

Once a user has been assigned the role of moderator of a specific community, they will receive a moderator badge beside their name on their profile for that community. All of that user's posts and comments within the community will display the moderator title as well.

27175422844823-Community Moderator Post - Oct 24

Moderators will also have a corresponding badge on the Members page of the community.

27175422847255-Community Moderator Members list - Oct 24

For more, see: Manage Your Community: Members, Posts, and Permissions

Community Moderator Permissions

A community moderator can do the following when accessing the community through their Student Dashboard:

  • Pin posts to the community homepage

  • Create, edit, and delete their posts

  • Delete posts of other members

  • Review and approve/reject posts

  • Create and edit live events created within the community

  • Receive community notifications when a post or a comment is made in a community they moderate

Currently, a community moderator cannot do the following:

  • See Thinkific Admin Dashboard

  • See or review a history of deleted content or posts

  • Create or set automated community rules

  • Perform moderation tasks from within the Mobile App experience

  • Create new communities or edit community settings

    Note: Only Site Owners and Site Admins will have access to this function

  • Create, edit or delete community spaces

    Note: Only Site Owners and Site Admins will have access to this function

  • Link Courses and Spaces within the community

    Note: Only Site Owners and Site Admins will have access to this function

  • Edit another member's post or content - although they can delete a post altogether if needed.

For more, see: Manage Your Community: Members, Posts, and Permissions · Communities: Live Events

How to Assign/Unassign a Moderator Role

The community moderator role for all communities is automatically assigned to:

To assign the community moderator role to other users, follow these instructions:

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Users

  2. Select All Users

  3. Locate the desired user and click on their full name

  4. Select the Details tab

  5. Click Edit profile

  6. In the User Roles section, check the Community moderator option

  7. Select a community you want to assign the moderator to

    Note

    You must select a community or communities to assign the moderator to. They will be moderator for that community(-ies) only.

  8. Click Save

To unassign the community moderator role:

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Users

  2. Select All Users

  3. Locate the desired user and click on their full name

  4. Select the Details tab

  5. Click Edit profile

  6. In the User Roles section, uncheck the Community moderator option

  7. Click Save

Note

Unassigning the community moderator role will not unenroll the user from a community. Instead, they will be downgraded to a regular community member only. To unenroll the user from the community, follow these steps: How to Unenroll Students and Process Refunds.

Important Considerations

  • Unlimited number of community moderators are available on all paid plans (Basic and above).

  • You must select a community or communities to assign the moderator to. They will be moderator for that community(-ies) only.

  • It is not possible to add a moderator to all communities in bulk.

  • Unassigning the community moderator role will not unenroll the user from a community. Instead, they will be downgraded to a regular community member only. To unenroll the user from the community, follow these steps: How to Unenroll Students and Process Refunds.

  • When creating a private space, community moderators will not be automatically added to the space and must be manually added. Only Site Owners and Site Admins will be automatically added to private spaces.

For more, see: Customize and Manage Your Community Spaces

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I create a code of conduct or other guidelines for my moderators?

Definitely! Establishing a simple but clear code of conduct for your Community Moderators is a good way to promote the behaviors you want to see in your community, and outline the expectations of the role.

Once you've created your code of conduct, be sure to post and pin it in the community!

Will I be able to tell when/if a moderator has deleted a post?

There is no option to see or review a history of deleted content or posts. It would be best to include a process for moderators to follow when you set up the community moderator role (e.g. keep a running shared document for moderators to log any posts they deleted or moderator actions they have taken. Alternatively, you can create a separate community and enrol moderators in it only).

Can I assign the community moderator role to someone with another role?

Yes! You can combine the community moderator role with the Course Admin or the Group Analyst roles. Note that you cannot assign the community moderator role the Site Owner, Site Admins, or Partner users, as they already have the role by default.

For more, see: Course Admins · Group Analysts

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 12 found this helpful