How to Delete a User

    Plan Availability
    Legacy Plans
    Platform

Learn how to permanently delete a user from your Thinkific account and the data implications of the deletion.


About This Feature

We don't recommend deleting users as this action is permanent and irreversible. If you want to make sure learners cannot log in to your site, you can deactivate them instead: How to Deactivate and Reactivate Users. If you want to make sure don't have access to your products, you can unenroll them: How to Unenroll Students and Process Refunds.

Users can only be deleted by a Site Owner, a Site Admin, or a user with a custom role with the corresponding permission. If a student or a user wants to delete their account, they will need to contact you directly to do so.

If you receive a deletion request, we highly recommend confirming that they want to delete their account and double-checking that they're contacting you from the email on file to prevent any accidental deletions. Deleting a user is permanent and irreversible. You will not be able to restore their account progress/details if it was deleted by accident. Most of the time, deactivating a learner is sufficient to prevent any log ins without losing data.

Before continuing, make sure to review the What Happens When a User is Deleted? section below.

Our support team is unable to restore user information, as the deletion is permanent and irreversible.

What Happens When a User is Deleted?

When a user is deleted from your Thinkific site, their account details such as name, email and password are permanently erased. Other data associated with them across your site will also be permanently deleted.

Thinkific Data

See the table below to see the impact of deletion on specific features:

Feature What happens when a user is deleted?
Course Reviews Permanently deleted
Quiz & Survey responses Permanently deleted
Assignments Permanently deleted
Course Progress Permanently deleted
Thinkific Certificates Permanently deleted
Accredible Certificates Still accessible in Accredible
Discussion posts Discussion posts are not deleted but will be attributed to an anonymous user. You will see them as undefined in your course and can always hide the posts if desired.
Community posts An entire post is deleted if it was created by the student (including comments and replies). Individual comments are deleted.
Orders Order records will remain, but will be attributed to an anonymous user. You will see them listed as (deleted) (deleted) in your Orders report.
Transactions Transaction records will remain, but will be attributed to an anonymous user. You will see them listed as (deleted) (deleted) in your Transactions report.
Invoices Draft invoices will be deleted. Open invoices will be voided. Paid invoices will remain, but will be attributed to an anonymous user. You will see them attributed to (deleted) (deleted) in your Invoices table.

Third-Party Integrations

Deleting a user in Thinkific will not automatically delete them from any third-party integrations. Users will need to be manually deleted from the third-party integrations/apps. Some common integrations/apps to check are:

How to Delete a User

  1. From your Admin Dashboard, select Users
  2. Select All Users
  3. Locate or search for the student you want to delete
  4. Select the ellipses (3-dot icon) to the right of their contact details
  5. Select Delete
  6. Select Delete User

If the student had any active subscriptions, you'll need to manually cancel their subscription in Stripe: How to Cancel a Subscription in Stripe

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I delete students in bulk?

It is not possible to bulk delete students due to the high risk of accidental and irreversible data deletion.

Can deleted users sign up for my site again?

Yes, when a user is deleted, their information is permanently removed, so it is not possible to cross-reference and flag users and emails if they sign up for your site again. If you want to remove a learner's account and prevent them from creating an account using the same email address again, deactivate the learner instead.

Should do I deactivate a user before deleting them?

No, user deletion and deactivation are independent actions and do not require one to be completed before the other.

Can I delete a user with a role?

Yes, you can delete a user if they have a role assigned with the exception of the Site Owner and Site Admins. Site Owner and Site Admins cannot be deleted, remove their role first before deleting.

Related Articles

Was this article helpful?
17 out of 57 found this helpful