Provide your students with social login options when they sign up for your site!
You can allow your students to conveniently access your Thinkific course site by enabling login via Facebook, Google, LinkedIn, and Apple.
How to Turn On Social Login
- Go to Settings on your Thinkific Admin Dashboard
- Select the Orders and accounts tab
- Under Social login, check off the box for any of the social login options you would like available
Once enabled, your students can choose to log in with these options on your sign-in and sign-up pages.
- A student can only use a social login or an email/password login, not both. If a student later decides they prefer to have an email/password combination instead of social login, you can encourage them to use the reset password option on your sign-in page. Learn more about that in How can students change their passwords?
- Once an email/password has been set, they will no longer be able to use the social login.
- If any of the social login options are enabled on your site and a Mobile app feature is turned on, the Apple sign in option will be automatically enabled. This is the requirement set by Apple and cannot be changed.
- With Apple Sign In, students have the option to hide their email, which allows them to create a Thinkific account using a unique, random email address. Any notifications sent to this random email address will be forwarded to the student's actual email. Learn more about it here: What is Hide My Email?
Frequently Asked Questions
Will students still need to enter the required custom fields when creating their account this way?
Students will still need to fill in any required Custom Fields as part of the signup process on your site. After using their social login to create their account they will be brought to a second page with these custom fields where they can enter their information.
Will their student login information still show on the Users page?
Students' information will still show in the Users Report, where you'll find the email address associated with their social account as well as any information required in your site's custom fields.
What happens if I disable this option down the line?
If you choose to disable the social login option, students that currently use this method will no longer see the option and may be confused about how to sign in. We recommend letting students know in advance of the change so that they will know to use the reset password option on your sign-in page in order to create an email/password login.
Why is my student registered as Apple User instead of their First and Last name?
If a student registers on your site using Apple Sign in option, they will be registered as Apple User, due to the way the Apple SSO (Single Sign On) interacts with our platform. Therefore, it is expected behavior for users who use Apple ID to sign in to have their usernames appear as "Apple User".
Your students can update their information in their Student Profile. Alternatively, you can edit their name on your end: How to Edit a User Name
Why was a duplicate account created when my student used Apple Sign in option?
If a student, who previously used their actual email or used an Apple Sign-in with a Share My Email option, chooses to hide their email when logging in, a brand new account will be created. This means that the student will not be able to access their learning content and a duplicate account will be created.