Turn on a community welcome email for your students to provide them with confirmation they have joined and with a link to start participating!
In this article:
How to Turn On Community Welcome Emails
About This Feature
Community welcome emails can be turned on to notify students when they first sign up for your community! They will provide a link for your new member to easily access your community and log in to your site.
How to Turn On Community Welcome Emails
- Go to Users
- Select Notification Emails
- Make sure you are on the Student tab
- Click the toggle beside Community Welcome Email
In order to turn student email notification on or off, you must be a Site Admin or Site Owner.
Who Receives a Community Welcome Email?
When a community welcome email is turned on:
- All community members (including those that Pre-ordered a community) will receive an email when the community is published for the first time
- New members will receive an email when they're added to this community
Frequently Asked Questions
A student just enrolled in a Pre-Order of one of my communities. Do they still receive the community welcome email?
When students enroll in communities set to pre-order, they will not receive a community welcome email at the time that they enroll; however, they will be sent an email as soon as the community is published.
I manually enrolled a student into one of my communities within the Admin Dashboard. Do they still receive the community welcome email?
Yes, students manually enrolled within the Admin Dashboard also receive the community welcome email.
If a student re-enrolls in a community, will they receive another community welcome email?
No, if a student's enrollment in a community expires, and they then re-enroll in the same community, they will not be sent a second community welcome email.
If I unpublish and then republish a community, will my learners receive another community welcome email?
No. When you publish a community for the first time, any already-enrolled students who haven't yet received a welcome email will be sent one at that time. Re-publishing a community that was previously published does not re-trigger the email for existing members.