Publishing Your Products

    Plan Availability
  • image
    Legacy Plans
  • image
    Platform
  • image

Products will not be visible on your site until they are published. When you are ready to start accepting enrollments for your course, bundle, membership, or community, you can publish!

Publish Status

There are 3 publish status options that you can choose from for most products:

Draft

If a product is set to draft status, users cannot purchase or enroll in the product, and it will not appear in any smart sections on your site pages.

For more, see: Site Builder Sections Overview

Pre-order

Products set to pre-order will allow users to purchase and enroll in the product immediately, but they will not be able to access any of the content. The product card will display 'Coming Soon' in the user Dashboard.

Note

Pre-order status is only available for courses and communities.

For more, see: Site Builder Sections Overview · The Thinkific Student Experience

Published

When a product is set to published, users can purchase, enroll in, and access the content of the product.

Check out the instructions below for more information on how to adjust your product's publish state.

How to Set Your Product to Draft

Set Your Course to Draft

When you originally create your course, it will be set to draft by default. This means that users cannot purchase or enroll in the course. It will also not be visible in any smart sections on your site pages.

If a course was previously published and then you return it to a draft status, users will no longer see the course listed in their user Dashboard.

For more, see: How to Unpublish Your Product

Set Your Bundle to Draft

When you originally create your bundle, it will be set to draft by default. This means that users cannot purchase or enroll in the bundle, but they may be able to purchase or enroll in the individual courses or communities contained within the bundle (if they are not also set to draft).

Bundles set to draft will not be visible in any smart sections on your site pages.

If a bundle was previously published and then you return it to a draft status, users will no longer see the bundle listed in their user Dashboard, but they may still have access to the individual courses or communities from the original bundle.

For more, see: How to Unpublish Your Product

Set Your Community to Draft

When you originally create your community, it will be set to draft by default. This means that users cannot purchase or enroll in the community. It will also not be visible in any smart sections on your site pages.

If a community was previously published and then you return it to a draft status, users will no longer see the community listed in their user Dashboard.

For more, see: How to Unpublish Your Product

Set Your Membership to Draft

When you originally create your Membership, it will be set to draft by default until it is published. This means that users cannot purchase or view the Membership package. It will also not be visible in any smart sections on your site pages.

If a Membership was previously published, and then you return it to a draft status by unpublishing it, users will no longer see the Membership listed in their user Dashboard.

For more, see: How to Unpublish Your Product

How to Publish Your Product for Pre-Order

Note

Publishing a product for pre-order is only available for courses and communities.

Publish Your Course for Pre-Order

If you want to pre-sell your course, use the pre-order publish option!

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Courses

  3. Hover over your desired course and select Edit

For more, see: How to Create a Pre-Order Product

Publish Your Community for Pre-Order

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Communities

  3. Click the ellipses (3 dot icon) next to your desired community and click Edit

How to Publish Your Product

Publish Your Course

Use this option when you are launching your course and want users to access your lesson content! Users can purchase, enroll and view your lessons once your course is published.

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Courses

  3. Hover over your desired course and select Edit

Publish Your Bundle

When a bundle is published, users can purchase it and will be enrolled in all courses included in the bundle. Courses included within the bundle will also need to be published in order for your users to access them.

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Sales

  2. Select Bundles

  3. Click on the desired Draft Bundle

For more, see: Create a Product Bundle

Publish Your Community

Users can purchase, enroll and participate in your community once your community is published.

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Communities

  3. Click the ellipses (3 dot icon) next to your desired community and click Edit

Publish Your Membership

When a Membership is published, users can purchase it and will be enrolled in all products included in the Membership. Products included within the Membership will also need to be published in order for your users to access them.

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Memberships

  3. Click on the desired unpublished Membership

Publish Your Digital Download

When a Digital Download is published, users can purchase it and access the content once purchased.

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Digital Downloads

  3. Select your desired digital download

For more, see: Drive Leads and Revenue with Digital Downloads

Publish Your Coaching or Webinar

When a Coaching & Webinar event is published, users can sign up for or purchase it and access the event through an access link once purchased/signed up.

  1. From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products

  2. Select Coaching & Webinars

  3. Select your desired event

For more, see: Forge Connections and Drive Leads and Revenue with Coaching & Webinars

Was this article helpful?
110 out of 203 found this helpful