We do not recommend changing currency after making your first sale, as Stripe does not allow users to make purchases in multiple currencies.
Once a customer has been created in Stripe, Stripe will not allow that same customer to make a purchase in a different currency. For example, if a student paid for a course in USD and you changed your currency to CAD, they would need to create a new Thinkific account under a unique email address in order to make the CAD purchase.
If you would still like to change your currency and prevent inconveniencing your existing students, we recommend connecting a new Stripe account.
Make sure to review Important Considerations before changing your Stripe account.
Connect a New Stripe Account and Re-Save Prices
Due to the limitations listed above, the simplest way to change your currency if you have already accepted payment in a different currency is to create a new Stripe account. Stripe makes it very easy to create and manage multiple accounts and you can learn how to set that up here: Multiple Stripe Accounts
Once you have created a new Stripe account, you can get set up in Thinkific:
- Please review How to Disconnect Stripe and send us an email with confirmation.
- Once we have disconnected your original Stripe account, you can connect your new account and make sure to change your currency as desired.
- Re-save your prices for all courses and bundles. To do this, you need to delete your pricing options and add them again. If you only have one price for your course, you can simply update the price temporarily, save your changes, then change the price back to the original and save again.
Great! Now students can purchase in your new currency.
We do not recommend disconnecting your original Stripe account and changing your currency unless absolutely necessary. Make sure to review all of the following details before starting this process.
Since you are disconnecting your original Stripe account, we are not able to assist or troubleshoot purchases made by students on that account. We recommend reaching out to Stripe directly if you have questions about managing these customers.
- Once we disconnect your Stripe account, you will want to reconnect a new Stripe account right away to ensure that any purchases made on your site have a place to go. If a student makes a purchase while you do not have a Stripe account connected, it is difficult and takes time for us to recover those funds for you. If your site is live, you can temporarily set your courses to Private to prevent any purchases during this transition period.
- You must re-save your prices in order for the new pricing data to be sent to Stripe. Failure to do this will result in Stripe payment failures. For example, if a student tries to purchase a course after you've changed your currency without saving new prices, Thinkific attempts to connect the student to a plan that was in your previous currency, which no longer exists.
- Linking a new Stripe account will not impact any students that have already purchased subscription or payment plan products. Those students will still pay in your previous currency. However, their enrollment duration will no longer update in Thinkific as payment is processed. We recommend removing the student's course expiry date and manually updating it in the case of a cancellation.
- All cancellations for students who signed up with the previous currency must be handled manually as Thinkific is no longer linked to the original Stripe account. This means students who signed up with the original Stripe account will need to contact you directly to cancel their subscription.
- Any new or existing students who make a new purchase will pay in the new currency and will be added as customers in your new Stripe account.