Drip Scheduling allows you to schedule the release of your course content over time!
In this article:
About This Feature
A Drip Schedule allows you to control when students will have access to your course content, whether you have a specific launch date or want to limit the amount of lessons that can be viewed in a certain time period.
For example, maybe you are pre-selling your course and don't want your students to access any of the lessons until your official launch date. Or perhaps you only want students to complete one Chapter a week to help pace their learning. This can be achieved by applying a Drip Schedule to your course!
If you'd like to see some more examples of why to use a Drip Schedule, check out our blog post!
How It Works
You can create a unique Drip Schedule per course, which will be applied to all students enrolled in that course. There are 3 Drip options, which will be covered in more detail below:
- Student Enrollment Date
- Student Course Start Date
- On a Specific Date (ie. Calendar Date)
If a student attempts to access a lesson that is not released yet, they will see a prompt within the Course Player indicating the date and time the lesson will be available. In the Course Player sidebar, the lesson also has a blocked icon to indicate the lesson is not accessible yet.
Drip Schedule Options
You have 3 options for how to release your lesson content:
Student Enrollment Date
Drip is based on when your student first enrolls into your course. Each student will have their own schedule based on their unique start date.
This Drip option is customized in days. The day that your student first enrolls into the course is day 0.
For example, new students could access Chapter 1 lessons immediately (day 0), have access to Chapter 2 lessons 7 days after they enrolled, and Chapter 3 lessons 14 days after, etc.
Learn how to set that up here: Set a Drip Schedule by Student Enrollment Date
Student Course Start Date
Drip is based on when your student accesses your course for the first time. This feature works great if you are using our Course Bundles feature or when manually enrolling students because although your student is enrolled into your course, they might not access the content right away. The Drip Schedule will only start when the student specifically accesses lessons in the Course Player.
Say a student buys your Bundle on Jan 15th. Your bundle includes 5 courses. The student doesn't start one of the courses, we'll call it Course B, until Feb 1st. No problem! The Drip Schedule for Course B will start on Feb 1st as soon as they access the course.
This Drip option is customized in days. The day that your student first accesses the Course Player for this particular course is day 0.
For example, as soon as a student visits the Course Player for your course, they could have access to Chapter 1 lessons immediately (day 0), have access to Chapter 2 lessons 7 days after, and Chapter 3 lessons 14 days after, etc.
Learn how to set that up here: Set a Drip Schedule by Course Start Date
On a Specific Date
Drip is based on a specific calendar date. This gives every student the same start date and release schedule regardless of when they enroll into your course. This option is great for cohorts that need to progress through a course together!
Learn how to set that up here: Set a Drip Schedule by Calendar Date
Students will only be able to view lessons in your course that are currently available according to your Drip Schedule. If they try to access a lesson that is not released yet, they will see a prompt within the Course Player indicating the date and time the lesson will be available.
To customize this message prompt, check out: Customize Drip Schedule Messaging
Testing or Previewing Drip Schedules
We don't currently have an option for previewing your Drip Schedules when within the Course Builder. When Previewing Your Course as Enrolled Student it will ignore Drip Schedules completely. This is intentional so that you can still view all of your lessons.
The best way to test that your Drip Schedule is running correctly is to create a test student account, and enroll into the course. You can then check in on the course from that student's perspective to ensure that they have access to lessons on the days you intend. Even if the lesson is not immediately accessible, you will see a notification of the date they will have access.
If you have a large group of students starting a course on a new Drip Schedule, consider enrolling a test student at the same time, in case you need to troubleshoot any schedule-based problems.
- This feature is available on All Paid Plans
- Drip Schedule applies to availability of lesson content specifically, it does not include notification emails. Learn more here: How are students notified when new Drip Content is released?
- Drip Schedule applies to all students enrolled in your course. We don't currently have the option to adjust a Drip Schedule on a per student basis. If you would like to add your vote to this feature request, please let us know!
Frequently Asked Questions
What time will drip content be released to the student?
If you create a student enrollment date Drip Schedule, and a lesson is set to release 1 day after enrollment, the student will have access to the content 24 hours after they enrolled. For example, if they enroll at 5pm their local time, they will get access to the Drip content at 5pm their local time the following day.
If you create a course start date Drip Schedule, and a lesson is set to release 1 day after start date, the student will have access to the content 24 hours after they first access the Course Player for this course. For example, if they first access your course at 5pm their local time, they will get access to the Drip content at 5pm their local time the following day.
For a calendar date Drip Schedule, the calendar feature is based around 12am UTC. The content will always be available as of 12:01am UTC on the date set for the Drip Schedule.
What happens when a student is re-enrolled into a course with a Drip Schedule?
This depends on the Drip Type that was selected, as well as few other factors. For more details, see What happens when a student re-enrolls in a course with a drip schedule?
What happens if I change the Drip Schedule while students are already taking my course?
Any change you make to the Drip Schedule will immediately be applied to the course, and will therefore affect any students who are currently enrolled. If your new schedule is more restrictive than the original one, this could potentially result in them losing access to lessons, including lessons they have already completed.