Implement an additional layer of content security by making your videos private!
Note
This feature is currently in Open Beta and not yet widely available. If you are interested in participating, please reach out and let us know.
Thinkific is proud to be a trusted partner of so many amazing creators and businesses and we are dedicated to being good stewards of the content and data you entrust us with. We are continuously identifying and improving our security practices so that you can focus all of your efforts on expanding your business.
We understand how valuable your content is to your business and your brand. Videos are the result of hours and hours of work and creative output, so it is important to continue to ensure that these videos are protected.
Now, you can implement an additional layer of security to your videos with the Private setting! When enabled, the embedded video URL will include an authorization token that expires after a certain period of time. Anyone accessing the direct video URL will be required to log in to the account to confirm that they have access to the content.
Please note that the default course and content behaviour remains the same as it always was: users trying to access your course or lessons are required to log in or to enroll/purchase the product before they can see the content. The Video privacy settings feature enhances this behaviour further by ensuring that even the direct video URLs cannot be shared with those outside of Thinkific.
Note
Note that the Private Setting might not prevent screen recording. For more, see: Is my content secure on Thinkific?
-
From the Admin Dashboard, go to Products
-
Select Asset Library
-
Use the search bar or filters to find the video you want to make private.
-
Click the video to open its settings.
-
Under Video settings, enable the Video privacy settings toggle.
-
Optionally, check Apply privacy settings to all existing videos to apply the setting across all your videos.
To disable the Private setting, follow steps 1–4 and turn off the Video privacy settings toggle. Optionally, check Apply privacy settings to all existing videos to remove the setting from all videos.
-
Private videos cannot be used in Site Builder or Landing Pages.
-
The Private setting does not automatically apply to videos you upload.
-
If a student with appropriate access to the video lesson is seeing an authorization error when accessing a Private video, they will need to refresh the page to be able to view the video again. For more, see: Video Troubleshooting Guide
For more, see: Site Builder Overview · What is the Difference between AI Landing Pages and Classic Website Pages?