The simplest way to cancel a subscription is for a student to cancel through their account. You can see instructions on that here: How can students manage their billing?
If you prefer to manually cancel a subscription, you can also complete this in Stripe. Since this process is not automated, you'll also want to make sure to expire the student's enrollment to make sure they don't have access to the course after their subscription is canceled.
How to Cancel a Subscription in Stripe
- Search for and open the customer record in Stripe
Scroll to Active Subscriptions
Click on the ‘...’ to the right of the subscription to cancel and choose Cancel Subscription
Once you have canceled their subscription, make sure to adjust the student's expiry date in Thinkific accordingly. Typically you will want to adjust the expiry date to match the last date they should have had access based on their current billing cycle.
Does ending or expiring an enrollment in Thinkific automatically cancel the subscription in Stripe?
No. If you end an enrollment in Thinkific for a student that has a subscription that is active, their Stripe subscription will not automatically be canceled. You must also cancel the subscription in Stripe to ensure the student is not charged going forward.