With subscriptions and payment plans, each student will be charged monthly or in the frequency that you have defined when pricing your course. The billing schedule will vary per student based on when they first enrolled in your course.
When an attempted payment fails, that student automatically loses access to the course content in Thinkific. The student enrollment is marked as expired in Thinkific.
Stripe will automatically attempt to process the payment again based on the default schedule below. If the issue is addressed by the student during these attempts and payment is successful, access will be restored. If the payment is unsuccessful for all following attempts, the student enrollment will stay expired.
In Stripe, you have the option to define what will occur to the subscription on the Stripe side specifically after all attempts have been tried. You will see the following options under the Then finally setting:
The above settings are configurable in Stripe via https://dashboard.stripe.com/account/recurring. They are system-wide and will apply to all students with subscriptions/payment plans.
This is what will occur for each option listed:
When all attempts at processing have failed, the subscription will be removed, access revoked and to restore access, the student will need to purchase the course again.
Mark subscription as unpaid (Recommended if offering payment plan options)
When all attempts at processing have failed, the subscription will be left as is, access revoked and to restore access, the admin will need to enter a payment manually once the student corrects their credit card information in Thinkific. This is the recommended setting given it will retain the subscription allowing for access to be granted once a payment is made, and your student can continue making payments toward their payment plan instead of having to repurchase the payment plan from the start.
Leave subscription as-is
When all attempts at processing have failed, the subscription will be left as is and access revoked. Stripe will simply move onto the next billing cycle and new invoice. The invoice with failed payment will be left as unpaid. Access to the course will require a successful payment entered into Stripe either manually or through the next billing cycle.
Updating the credit card details will NOT activate further attempts to charge the card in Stripe. You will need to manually Retry the charge in Stripe to attempt any further charges.