When a student is deleted from your Thinkific site, their account details such as name, email and password are permanently erased. It's also important to note that there is other data associated with them across your site that will also be permanently deleted. Learn more below about data affected by student deletion.
We don't recommend deleting students as this action is permanent and irreversible. If you simply want to make sure they don't have access to your courses, you can unenroll your student instead!
If you still need to delete your student, check out the following for an overview of the student data that will be deleted:
|Feature||What happens when the student is deleted?|
|Course Reviews||Permanently deleted|
|Quiz & Survey responses||Permanently deleted|
|Course Progress||Permanently deleted|
|Thinkific Certificates||Permanently deleted|
|Accredible Certificates||Still accessible in Accredible|
Discussion posts are not deleted, but will be attributed to an anonymous user. You will see them as undefined in your course and can always hide the posts if desired.
|Community posts||Entire post is deleted if it was created by the student. Individual comments are deleted.|
Order record will remain, but will be attributed to an anonymous user. You will see them listed as (deleted) (deleted) in your Orders report.
Third Party Integrations
Deleting a student will not automatically deleted them from any third party integrations you are using. Students will also need to be manually deleted from third party apps. Here are some common apps to check for are:
If you still want to delete your student, see: How to Delete a Student