- Why is there an extra charge for my subscription?
- I have activated a free Thinkific trial but was charged anyway.
If you are seeing an extra charge on your card after you purchased, upgraded, or changed your Thinkific subscription or redeemed a promotion or a trial, this is most likely a pre-authorization charge. This charge will appear in addition to the Thinkific subscription charge. The pre-authorization charge is made to verify your card and to confirm that your account has enough room for the charge. This helps reduce the chance of a failed payment.
The pre-authorization charge will be automatically canceled and refunded in the form of a reversal. No further action is needed from you. You won't see a refund credit on your statement—you will just see the original authorization drop off your statement entirely after a few days. There will be no payment and no refund listed. It will appear as if the whole transaction never happened. Your bank should be able to confirm this with you as well.
- If you have purchased two different plans, then the charge that you are seeing might be an actual charge.
- If you are upgrading or purchasing a subscription and do not have funds available for both the subscription and the pre-authorization charges, the transaction might fail. Please ensure you have enough funds for both charges.
- If you have any further questions or concerns about additional charges on your card, please reach out to our Support Team.